InLiquid Studio Visit!


Today I had the pleasure of meeting with Rachel Zimmerman and Erica Minutella at the InLiquid Studio in Philadelphia!  As the InLiquid site states “InLiquid is a nonprofit organization committed to creating opportunities and exposure for visual artists while serving as a free, online public hub for arts information in the Philadelphia area. By providing the public with immediate access to view the portfolios and credentials of over 280 artists and designers via the internet; through meaningful partnerships with other cultural organizations; through community-based activities and exhibitions; and through an extensive online body of timely art information, InLiquid brings to light the richness of our region’s art activity, broadens audiences, and heightens appreciation for all forms of visual culture.”(InLiquid.org)  This organization has the desire to connect with artists in Philadelphia and I saw firsthand how they work as a cohesive team.

I am not even a member of the InLiquid organization, but was welcomed from the minute I walked through the door.  The studio itself is large, with friendly faces passing by.  Everyone I saw was happy and smiling!  This is the kind of organization that treats each other like family.  Everyone in the studio seemed genuinely kind and passionate about their work.  Having the opportunity to visit the InLiquid studio was an amazing experience for me and one that I will not forget!

Rachel is the executive director and Erica is the site editor of InLiquid.org.  Rachel and Erica graiously agreed to meet with me and provided first hand advice on how to broaden my work through social media and potential opportunities available to young art students.  The fact that such important members of the organization agreed to meet with me just shows the dedication they have to supporting artists.  They took valuable time out of their schedules to help a young aspiring artist and in my opinion that says a lot about the character of those in the InLiquid organization.  After leaving the studio, I felt so inspired to keep working and networking!  I will always be grateful to Rachel and Erica and continue to update them on my progress because without them I might not know where to go next on my journey to becoming an animator!

 

Citation

“What is InLiquid.” InLiquid. Studio Z Design, n.d. Web. 7 Aug. 2014. <http://inliquid.org/about/ mission/>.

Leave a Reply

